my little sappy love story….

A few of years ago, my life went all kooky.

Then, I met this guy.

Our first date, we talked.  He talked.  I mean actually talked, not chit chat and boring getting to know you bullshit.  Talked.  We laughed, we made ‘eyes’ at each other etc.  Over salmon and cocktails at an amazing little restaurant/bar/cabaret in Hollywood that is (sniff) no longer there..

I wanted to hang out with him all night, I kept find myself laughing and putting my hand on his knee(so old school), just wanting to touch him.

So we walked down the street, I linked my arm through his.  At the end of the night, we kissed goodbye (ok kissy kissed) and I went home.

That was it, after that any other dates I’d been on or was planning to go on didn’t matter.  I wanted this guy.  This guy I wasn’t expecting that caught me out of the blue.  Isn’t that how they say it works?  When you least expect it!!!  It will happen to you!  Like some corny add from the 50’s…

Well that was a little over two years ago.  We were pretty much glued to each other within a week of that first date, living together within 7 months.  And the night before our two year anniversary he proposed.

We went to Catalina Island for a two night getaway (no kids, no dishes, no laundry woohoo!!).  Here’s the thing, it did cross my mind he might propose, maybe once or twice…
I mean, the subject had been discussed a bit, comments were always being made, rings had been peeked at…but I never thought he’d actually surprise me, because he CAN NOT keep a gift a secret.  He acts funny, wants to give it now!  I thought for sure the day he proposed I’d see it coming.  Nope.

So, we get all gussied up and go to the fanciest restaurant on the island (according to us, there ain’t that much to choose from on this little island 😉 )  Somehow, he got us a reservation even though they were booked seeing as how it was a holiday weekend. Came to find out, he told them what his plan was so, they being an amazing sweet bunch of women, squeezed us in.

At the best table no less!  Right on the boardwalk.

The ocean and the boardwalk, through my wine glass

We ate awesome and amazing food, he ordered us a bottle of champagne.  Our server was wonderful.  And for some reason he pointed out the bathroom to me.

Gee thanks honey, I appreciate it.  Well, he of course, was hoping I’d go.

Our server, Letizia, was set up to video tape him propose on his phone, he told me she was simply going to take our picture.

I suspected nothing at all.  He acted so normal!  Then, when I returned, from the restroom, and sat to have our picture taken everything went down.

He did the ring in the champagne glass, hoping I wouldn’t see it until we’d done the silly crossed arms thing, but I saw it fast.

My love fished the ring out of the glass, almost knocking over the other glass as a result, got down on one knee and proposed.  We had an audience on the boardwalk & in the restaurant, which I know in my crazy stupor I understood because my first words were “why are you doing this right now?”   My old fashioned shy popped out right then I guess huh?

Also, I cried.  I mean I totally cried.  I’ve never actually been proposed to, I had no idea how I’d react.  I DID NOT think I’d cry.  It was instant, which cracks me the hell up in retrospect.  He of course, loves that I cried. 😉  I did not know I was such a GIRL.

Well, here’s the thing.  I said yes, everyone applauded, I got the kisses and the ring and now the wedding date.  But that’s not the best part.

The best part is, I found this man, who I didn’t know existed.  I didn’t believe he existed.  Maybe I didn’t even think I deserved him?  But I found him, or, he found me, however you like it.

And the sappy part is he DOES make me feel like the happiest and luckiest girl in the world.  He is the most amazing person I’ve ever known, the biggest heart I’ve ever had the pleasure of holding.

I think I do pinch myself sometimes.  I work on not taking anything for granted, being thankful for every day I have with him.  I’m a better person for having known him.

Too sappy?  Sorry,  can’t help it.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying we as women “need” a man for happiness blah blah, of course not.

But, if you find someone, and they are suddenly your best friend, the one person you want to share everything with, the one person who warms your heart like nothing else, what’s wrong with having a love like that and seeing it through?  To me?  Nothing.

I am not afraid to say I believe in love, I believe in happily ever after, and this is coming from a person who had plenty of reasons to not believe.  Well screw that because I do!  I do, I do, I do.

So now, I am an engaged lady planning her wedding.  Which is a whooooooole other story :-/.  I’m no bridezilla, I just can’t wait until I can call him my husband, and we can ‘officially’ start our new Happily Ever After.

8 months to go!

kisses,

Jen

 

2 thoughts on “my little sappy love story….

  1. Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww!!!!!!!!! 😀 That is 81 w’s and 9 exclamation points because 9 is my favourite number and it all fits for my favourite post of yours ever. Congratulations, sweetie pie! So very happy for you. 😀

Leave a Reply

